Tags

,

Photos a la Navyguy.

Last night Navyguy decided it was time to pull out the bread machine. I don’t think I’d ever seen an actual bread machine until I met Navyguy’s family. It a big deal over there, and we use NavyMoms to make bread almost every time we visit. A few weeks ago when visiting she surprised us with one for our new place and although I’d much prefer to learn how to make bread the old fashioned way, I really appreciated the gift. Bonus: it is pretty fun to use.


IMG_0201.JPG

I’m not sure what the recipe is or where it can from, all I know is that 2 hours after being asked “do we have baking soda and if we do where would it live”, we had this wonderful stuff…


IMG_0203.JPG

Pumpkin Bread!

So this morning we made french toast. I’ve mentioned before that I don’t even really like french toast, but this sounded like too good of an opportunity to pass up.

IMG_0204.JPG

Eggy milk and vanilla mixture.

IMG_0202.JPG

Into a top pan coated with butter. Real Butter.

IMG_0205.JPG

It was so good! I think the reason I don’t like regular french toast has something to do with plain bread getting soggy, bleh. There just isn’t anything special about it and usually requires a ton of syrup to really taste good to me. Pumpkin bread french toast definitely has a little something special and the density of the bread held up to the eggy mixture really well, it didn’t feel or taste soggy at all after cooking.

IMG_0209.JPG

Instead of syrup I mixed some leftover pumpkin puree with some yogurt and a splash of maple syrup for dipping. I think I might make this for breakfast the morning after Thanksgiving (both of our families will be spending the night with us!)

Do you have a favorite kind of french toast or just a favorite breakfast in general?

