Tags

, , ,

I’ve kind of been a slacker recently. Thanksgiving was a blast, I was busy, but I loved every minute of having my family visit. After 2 years of living too far away for most of our family to visit it was really special to have so many of us together for so long.

The thing is after 5 days of non-stop cooking and bonding all I wanted to do was sleep and do nothing for a day or 2, and that’s pretty much what I did. Ok maybe I was worn out from all the family bonding action or maybe I was in a 2 day long sugar coma, the details really aren’t that important. The important part is that when I woke up yesterday morning I literally couldn’t believe that it was actually December already and realized I had a lot to catch up on.

IMG_0306.JPG

Before Thanksgiving I had made a goal for myself to get up and go to the gym first thing in the morning. I was trying to get in the habit of getting up earlier and also trying to get in the habit of following a semi-set schedule everyday. Despite the fact that my plan didn’t really “work” (seeing as its after 1 pm and I still haven’t hit the gym and my past week has been a total jumble schedule wise) I ended the week feeling really great physically and mentally.

IMG_0309.JPG

I decided to start setting goals that made me feel good. After Thanksgiving I was feeling a overindulged and craving more fruits and veg than usual. I decided to roll with it and so for this past week my feel good goal has been to eat fruits and/or veggies at every meal and snack if possible. It felt good to get out of the eggs for breakfast, sandwich for lunch rut I had sort of fallen in to.

IMG_0307.JPG

Breakfast today:

  • 1/4 cup steep cup oats
  • banana (half cooked in the oats)
  • 2 chopped dates
  • handfull of chopped pecans

I made Pecan Shortbread cookies instead of Pecan Pie for Thanksgiving and I having been loving the leftover pecans. Move over almonds.

IMG_0321.JPG

Groceries are actually really low now that we’ve finished up all the leftovers, so lunch was pretty simple.

IMG_0319.JPG

I call it Dining Hall Pizza. I used to make these all the time at our dining hall when I was craving pizza but didn’t actually want the pizza they served in our dining hall. It’s basically just toast, crushed tomatoes, and cottage cheese topped with some dried oregano. Ok, it doesn’t actually taste like pizza, but I really like it.

  IMG_0322.JPG

On the side: Toasted Chick Peas. I put them in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes but ended up throwing them back in for another 15-20 to get them extra crunchy.

I never really considered beans a fruit or vegetable, just their own thing. But apparently they have their own website that claims that not only are they a vegetable, but the vegetable with more ,and according to Answers.com they’re actually dried fruits. I guess I did call them the “magical fruit” a lot when I was younger ;).

