Tags

, , ,

This oatmeal might just be the worst I’ve ever had.

IMG_0345.JPG

I’m not really sure what was going through my mind this morning when I was standing in front of the stove. Lesson Learned: Frozen bananas are not great when cooked into oatmeal.

Actually I’m not really sure what’s going through my mind right now about anything. Life is great, I just haven’t really had anything to say about it really. When it comes to blogging my rule of thumb is that if my screen is still blank (or only has a random sentence or 2) after 15 minutes, then it’s time to break and try again some other time.

When I don’t know what to cook my general rule of thumb is either: make soup or make something that requires peeling, slicing, and dicing.

IMG_0334.JPG IMG_0337.jpg

IMG_0338.JPG IMG_0339.JPG

Because I will alway like soup and peeling/slicing/dicing IS fun.

IMG_0341.JPG

IMG_0340.JPG

I Hope This Works Pot Pie:

  • maybe 1.5 cups shredded chicken
  • about 1/2 package of thawed and squeezed frozen spinach
  • 4 medium carrots, sliced
  • 1 medium red potato, finely diced
  • about 1/2 cup of broth
  • 1/8-1/4 cup whole wheat flour

Topping:

  • Biscuit
  • Milk

IMG_0342.JPG

Bonus: getting your hands messy.

IMG_0343.JPG

IMG_0344.JPG

I’m not really sure what the rules are for a pot pie, this probably doesn’t really qualify since it didn’t really have a “crust” and there wasn’t really any gravy quality to it. But whatever it was, it was delicious! And by delicious I mean it had multiple colors, contained vegetables, and Navyguy still ate it, said it tasted good, AND ate leftovers. I call that a win for sure.

I’m not opposed to us eating separate things some nights, but I really love it when we find meals that we both like, especially meals that include vegetables.

I’ll be back later with either some soup or a story about how I haven’t run in over a week.

