Tags

, , , ,

I Love Soup.

The first time I ever made a real soup it took me somewhere around 5 hours, no joke. I was studying abroad, fighting a cold, homesick to the max, and all I wanted was a super hearty homemade chicken soup. I actually roasted the chicken and I think I peeled and chopped around 5 tons of veggies, you know, give or take. I think it’s probably one of the fondest memories I have of cooking something by myself. I just felt so happy and accomplished when I was done. Every bowl mug-full was better than the last.

Now, most of the soups made in my kitchen take less than 30 minutes and I’m happy about that. Still I do kind of think there’s something a little extra special about things that take hours to cook. Maybe its just one of those things where the results feels like a bigger deal because you put so much extra time and effort into it?

Anyway, when we first moved to South Carolina everyone told us that temps usually stayed in the 50s during the winter and days in the 40s or 30s were pretty rare. Unless its snowing I hate the cold and was looking forward to the San Diego-esque winters I had gotten used to (and loved). Well, I guess it’s one of those rare days weeks because its 36 today and its been like that for a couple of days. So after I stopped pouting I called my Mom and we both decided it was time to make chili.

I guess technically chili is a stew but I’ve always though of it as soup and I’m sticking to it.

IMG_0346.JPG

My Dad makes the best chili ever. End of story. It’s one of those things where its so good I don’t even want to try to make it myself because I know it just won’t be the same. The good thing is that chili is one of those things thats bound to come out tasty pretty much no matter what. Tomatoes, beans, ground meat of some sort, and chili powder. Done. Actually I don’t think the meat is really necessary I just like it.

A Smallish Pot of Chili:

  • 1/2 a yellow onion, diced
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 1 deseeded and diced jalepeno
  • 1 deseeded and diced hot mystery red pepper

— I softened up these ingredients in the bottom of the pot with a small splash of oil

  • 6 or so ounces of lean ground beef
  • some chopped up mushrooms (just for fun)

— Added to the soften onion mix and browned

  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes ( one was “fire roasted”)
  • 2 cans of dark kidney beans
  • 2 TBSP Chili Powder
  • Black Pepper
  • a few squirts of lime juice
  • some chopped cilantro

— Everything Simmered for about 2 hours. I doesn’t have to cook for very long, but the longer it sits the better it tastes.

IMG_0347.JPG

Topped with some crumbled corn muffin. I was originally going to add 2 of each kind of pepper but then back out at the last minute because I was afraid it would get too spicy. I definitely should have added all the peppers, it could use some more kick.

IMG_0348.JPG

It’s not my Dad’s and its not as good as my other favorite chili recipe, but its still tasty and its still warming me up.

About the not running story… well that’s pretty much it right there. I haven’t run since the Turkey Day 5k on Thanksgiving. I’m not really sure what’s up but I just haven’t had the desire to run at all and I’ve just rolled with it. The upside is that in place of running I’ve actually been getting in some strength training action at the gym. I hadn’t been posting about my workouts because honestly I felt a little guilty about not running, I know that sounds silly, but really for the past 2 years running has been my main thing, I was never great at it but I still loved it (most days). I can’t really remember the last time I wasn’t training for a race and I’m surprised that right now I like it. No pressure, just working out just for the good of it. I feel like I need a goal of some kind but for now I’m not going to rush it.   

Questions:

Do you consider chili a soup, stew, or just its own thing?

Any fun fitness challenge suggestions?

