Tags

, , , , ,

Things have been pretty boring over here food wise. I literally ate the exact same things for breakfast and lunch as I did the day before, something I used to say I could never do. The thing is I’ve been having a hard time getting a good nights sleep l lately. It happens every once in awhile and I know it will pass but currently I’m feeling (and acting) slightly zombieish.

Anyway, I was having a hard time coming up with something to blog about because one of the biggest things on my mind right now is my weight and fitness level. It’s not that I mind talking about these things, I was just struggling to come up with a non-whining/pity party way to say that I’m feeling a little down about both of them right now.

It’s been a little over 2 weeks since I went on my last run and I still haven’t really felt any urge to. I’ve been getting to the gym pretty regularly and using the elliptical and even some weights, but after 2 weeks I was starting to feel like I wasn’t really going anywhere. For one, I was starting to get pretty bored with the elliptical, and 2 I didn’t feel like I was making the changes I needed to actually see changes in my body.

 

For the past 2 years I’ve always had some kind of fitness goal to work towards. Usually the goal was a race but I did also make some brief attempts at some Jillian Micheals challenges. Let’s just say Jillian isn’t for me, or for my hips.

 

The best part about these 2 weeks away from running has been discovering that I don’t actually hate strength training. I’ve really enjoyed trying out a few different kinds of work outs and have been able to figure out what I do and don’t like about the weight room. Personally, I get really bored with workouts that go one exercise at a time, for 3-4 sets, with rest in between every set. I tried Jillian a few times, both the Shred and Making the Cut, and sort of like the circuit training style, but ended up with a hip injury every time, so I figured that just wasn’t for me.

Is this starting to sound a little bit like Goldilocks? haha now I feel slightly lame. But really, I finally found something that I like the best.

 

It started with this workout out from Toneitup.com. Its a great workout and I love the circuit training style. I get bored easily so I knew the likelihood of me sticking to this same workout 3x times a week wasn’t very high. I searched around for awhile and after reading some awesome posts on the Great Fitness Experiment I headed over to the library and picked up The Female Body Breakthrough by Rachel Cosgrove.

There a lot of things in this book that really make sense to me. Things that make me want to run to the gym and pump iron like a maniac. There are a lot of things in this book that I don’t really agree with at all, along with parts that I just don’t like and probably won’t follow (like giving up cardio completely). But I’ve tried the first workout and really liked it, not to mention definitely have been feeling the effects of it.

The whole program is 16 weeks long and my favorite part is that you’re never doing 2 of the same workouts in a row. I don’t want to get too gung ho and proclaim that I’m sticking to this thing 100% for the next 16 weeks, but for right now it feels really great to a new fitness goal to work towards. My goal right now is to get through the first 4 weeks, see how I feel then, and go from there.

I still feel a little odd about not having a current running goal, or really, just not running at all right now, but I’m excited to try something completely new and different. I think my body is ready for a change.

 

