Tags

, , , ,

It finally happened on Sunday night. I finally got that feeling, that itch to just go for a run. Of course I got that feeling at about 9:45pm. Does anyone else ever get the strongest urges to do something like go for a run when it’s the worst time possible? So anyway I did my best to save that feeling until the am.

I set my alarm for 6am Monday morning and actually didn’t have any trouble getting up.

IMG_0387.JPG

However I did have a hard time convincing myself to get out the door. I am currently going through serious Southern California withdraw. I knew it would be warm in the gym, I just had to get there, and get gas on the way. It might have been dramatic, but I spent the rest of the day telling everyone that I burned more calories standing outside at the gas pump than I did actually running on the treadmill.

I set the treadmill for 30 minutes and promised myself that I wouldn’t worry about speed or mileage. I just want to get back to that point where I love running again. I started to remember why I liked it almost instantly. I actually felt so good during the first few minutes that I honestly got the urge to fist pump. Even though the gym was completely empty I kept my excitement to myself. Imagine if you walked into the gym at 7am and all you saw was some wacko fist pumping on the treadmill.

The last 10 minutes were definitely tough, but it was nowhere as bad as I thought it would be. I was afraid that I would have lost a lot of running fitness after almost 2 weeks off but that didn’t seem to be the case. My endurance definitely isn’t going to get me much farther than 3-4 miles right now but I actually think that my speed has improved. Crazy right? Thank you weight training.

Speaking of weight training, I started week 2 of the Rachel workout yesterday. I’m still alternating between the same 2 workouts, but now everything gets pumped from 2 sets to 3 sets and I start adding in extra weight on some moves. I’m still really loving this program. I think its the mix of simple and challenging thats keeping it interesting. It never feels easy, but it never feels like death either. Of course I definitely whine a little bit on the days we do the Bulgarian Split-Squat, or as I like to call it the Barbaric Split-Sucks-A-Lot. At least it’s interesting.

L-bulgarian-split-sq4-300x205.jpg

Doesn’t it look so innocent?

What’s your favorite and least favorite strength move? my favorite it the bicep curl, boring right?

