Tags

, , ,

The past couple of days have been extremely chill over here. Christmas break has officially started and almost all of our shopping is done. I think we might make one last ditch effort but that won’t happen until tomorrow. We’re leaving for a fun filled week at home on Tuesday so we decided that this weekend was our official “do-nothing-but-relax-and-enjoy-christmas-time-lazy-weekend,” so that means not braving the shopping centers until Monday.

The most exciting thing going on over here is breakfast.

IMG_0431.JPG

I picked up some oat bran from the bulk bins just to have something new to try. I love plain oatmeal with an egg, but it was getting kind of boring. I was hoping that oat bran would have a more grits/cream of wheat texture, but still give me the staying power of oatmeal. That’s pretty much exactly what I got.

IMG_0432.JPG

It made me feel like I was in an old nursery rhyme, finding the perfect porridge. I guess I’m just really into relating my life to Goldilocks these days. You know, I have sort of always wondered what I’d be like as a blond. I’ve just never had the guts to actually go for it.

My 3 favorite things about oat bran:

  • It has the amazing nutty flavor of steel cut oats, but cooks in less than half the time
  • the texture. I just love it.
  • It goes both ways. Sweet and Savory. (a must for me).

IMG_0423.JPG

The sweet way.

IMG_0426.JPG IMG_0427.JPG

IMG_0429.jpg IMG_0430.jpg

Oat bran + leftover marmalade + coconut.

Something about the marmalade made me feel like I was eating breakfast on a sunny patio in France with Mamette (my adorable French grandmother). Anything to make a gloomy day feel better right?

The second most exciting thing going on over here is that I actually ran 3 times this week, about 9 miles total. It’s funny to me that a few months ago I was running 9 miles at a time and now I’m proud just to be running 9 miles a week. I think thats one of the things I love the most about running, it’s so relative. Only you can determine how good your doing with it.

