Tags

, , , , , ,

Over the past year I’ve put on something like 20lbs. The second 10ish, are what happened quickly, pretty much just in the last 3 months. I’m not curious about those last 10. I knew what was happening and let it happen. It’s done, I’ve moved on, and I’m working hard to change it.

The first 10 were completely different. They were the ones that crept on slowly (over about 9 months). They are the ones that I’m curious about, what got me thinking about what I was doing differently a year ago versus what I’m doing now. They’ve got me thinking about what really makes the difference between maintaining a healthy happy weight for a lifetime versus slowly gaining.

For me there are a lot of answers. And after giving it a good amount of thought, I’ve realized I’m doing a lot of things differently now than I was at my happy weight.

The Obvious:

  • not going to the gym as frequently
  • gradually dropping the intensity of my workouts
  • making up for the fact that I miss California by drinking copious amounts of wine.

The Less Obvious:

  • my favorite workouts started to become stale and boring
  • not making the effort to work more fun/exciting workouts into my schedule
  • realizing that compared to a year ago, my meat intake has basically tripled

For whatever reason the meat thing really stood out to me. After trying a vegetarian lifestyle for over a year when I was younger I decided that I honestly just enjoy meat and that it would most likely always be a part of my diet, it just didn’t have to be the main part. After awhile I sort of fell into a natural pattern where I was eating at about one meal a day anywhere from 3-5 days a week. It really worked for me. I was eating more produce than ever and felt pretty great.

.IMG_2625.jpg

A few months ago I got to the point where I was eating meat at almost every meal, everyday. Things have obviously changed. My goal for January is to change them back. I’m trying to stick to this “focus on one big goal at time thing” so instead of driving myself crazy tracking the number of time I eat meat each week and the number of times I eat fish (something I’m trying to increase) it made sense to just combine the two.

January Goal: Don’t eat meat. Fish not included.

Two birds one stone right?

It’s been one week so far, I’ve had 2 servings of fish and I don’t really miss meat at all. I kind of missed meat last night but that was just because I was super hungry by dinner time and there was pre-cooked chicken ready to eat. But mostly I don’t miss it at all. I can’t say that I won’t look forward to bringing it back eventually, I’m just really ok without it right now.

.IMG_0461.JPG

Major Bonus: My meal creativity rut has been busted big time and I’m really enjoying preparing meals the way I used to.

IMG_0460.JPG

Quinoa, chick peas, and sauteed brussels sprouts with spices and soy sauce.

Random Tidbit: I decided I needed a break from photographing my meals. The break was nice but it’s making its way back slowly but surely.

IMG_0458.JPG

Random Proud Moment of the Day: I tackled a metric butt ton of neglected laundry today. It feels soooooo good to have it done.

What are you proud of right now?

