Tags

,

Over the past couple days I’ve had to:

  • Get drug tested
  • Meet lots of knew people
  • Get a physical
  • Get finger printed
  • Take a lifting test
  • Get shots
  • Try to prove that I’ve already had shots
  • Still get more shots
  • Study and take a real test
  • Fill out an intensive background check questionnaire

All because….. I GOT A JOB!

I graduated at the end of 2008 and had officially been applying for jobs for 2 years on the day I got the phone call. I jumped up and down. I squealed. I laughed out loud. I was just so happy.

Kinnamon-0505.jpg

When I first started my job search I seriously underestimated how overwhelming the sense of rejection was going to be. I knew I probably wouldn’t get hired right away, but naively figured I’d only end up applying to 5-10 jobs, maybe. By then someone would definitely have hired me. I was very confidant.

photo.php.jpg

(Check out those poofy eyes – yeah I cried my eyes out the night before)

The first couple of rejections were let downs, the first couple of ones that I just never heard back from were frustrating, but I had moved from a small town in Maryland to California and I knew it was going to be harder to get noticed. After the first couple I tried not to take it personally, but that was hard. It is personal. It is exceptionally personal, in one way or another I was being told I wasn’t good enough.

After applying to over 100 positions I was emotionally defeated and honestly, I gave up. I was never really able to get over the rejection. When we moved to South Carolina I was excited to have new chance, but I was nervous things would turn out the same.

I can’t even begin to express how excited I am. After years of rejection it honestly just feels so good to know that someone out there thought I’d make a good employee.

AHHH I’m excited!

It might take me a little while to adjust to the knew schedule since my everything will keep changing over the next couple of weeks. I might be gone for a few days at a time here and there but I’ll figure out a schedule once everything gets settled.

Celebrate something today.

