Tags

,

Have you ever had one of those dreams that are so vivid they stay with you all morning and sometimes even all day? I had one of those dreams last night and it was not the good kind. I know what happened in my dream will probably never happen to me in real life but I still can’t help checking behind all the closed doors and turning on all the lights before I enter into the room. Did I mention that its totally dark and gloomy today?

I’m not really one to put a lot of stock in the meaning of dreams. My personal opinion is that dreams are just stories put together by whatever is floating around in our brains already. So basically I don’t think I get any kind of cosmic message through my dreams, I’m only dreaming about thoughts or ideas that are already in my head.

My dream was probably telling me a few things:

1. I watch entirely too much Law and Order SVU.

2. I’m kind of anxious about a second round of shots today.

3. I’m anxious in general about starting a new job.

Even though these things didn’t have much to do with the plot of my dream (ok, except maybe the first one) the feelings of fear, failure, and anxiety were what really stood out the most.

The bright side? It was JUST a dream. I’m awake and alive and happy.

I used to have dreams like that pretty frequently and most of the time I’d let those feelings weigh me down for the rest of the day. Dreams can be intense! But I knew that I needed a clear head and a positive attitude to get through today. I spent a lot of time this morning almost meditating on my feelings and countering them with positive affirmations.

IMG_0486.JPG

I fixed up my favorite breakfast: 1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 egg, and 1 egg white.

IMG_0487.JPG

I kept up with the positive affirmations, started working on this post, and now I’m genuinely feeling good as new. I’m thinking that if I end up with a really good cup of coffee I might actually forget about the whole “have to go get shots” part of the day too.

