Tags

, ,

Hey! Happy Friday!! Yesterday my day consisted of grocery shopping, drinking tea, and passing out on the couch a few times.

IMG_0546.JPG IMG_0547.JPG

(I have somewhere in the vicinity of 672 mugs, but I get a kick out of using Navyguy’s one mug :))

I felt lame at the time but all the extra rest paid off because I’m feeling a lot better today. Actually if all goes according to plan I should be heading out the door for a run soon, which is only a big deal because I’ve worked out approximately two times this week so far. I was thrown off this week between my cold and my schedule changing up but hopefully I’ll get the hang of it soon. Can’t wait for this job to just start already!

So I’m not sure if it was the sniffles or if I was just ready for a change but I’ve been switching things up in the kitchen recently.

IMG_0548.JPG

Normally I’m a full fledged over-seasoner. I just can’t help it. I love spices and I can’t just stop at one or 2. I was always the kind of person that couldn’t stand eating the same thing over and over again so I was constantly changing up the way I cooked things with different seasonings. The idea of cooking something with just a little salt and pepper was totally lost on me, it just sounded so boring.

IMG_0549.JPG

I’m not sure what finally made the light bulb go off but for the last couple of days I’ve been ignoring my 30 some bottles of seasonings in favor of simple salt and pepper for most things. Mushrooms and asparagus sauteed in a little bit of butter with nothing but sea salt and fresh ground pepper on top of plain quinoa. It was incredible.

Maybe my mouth just needed a break from all the competing flavors I usually throw at it?

I kept dinner last night really simple as well.

IMG_0554.JPG

Mahi mahi with cajun seasoning, plain boiled butternut squash, and spinach in an orangejuice/olive oil dressing.

IMG_0553.JPG

On the bread I spread a little mix of smart balance mayo and pesto. Ok, so now that I’m typing it out, it doesn’t seem as simple as it did in my head. Yea, there are a lot of flavors, but just trust me when I say that normally there would have been about 10 more going on. Even Navyguy liked this dinner, including the plain squash and the salad. No joke.

I was so excited with how delicious everything was turning out I actually made up a plan for dinners for the rest of the week that focused on recipes with really simple flavors. I’ve never been a meal planner so I’m excited to see how this works out. I might end up getting bored but I’m hoping that maybe I’ve just graduated to a new level with my taste buds.

What are your favorite seasonings? Are you heavy handed with the shakers or do you stick to simple flavors? My favorites are chili powder, southwest seasoning, and red pepper flakes. Gotta love a good kick.

now how ’bout that run…

