Tags

, , ,

Thanks for sharing all your stories about your pet names. I loved hearing about all of them!

So it’s official, after almost 5 months of inconsistent so-so runs I finally got my running mojo back! It feels so goooooood.

It’s hard to pin point exactly when I lost it, probably somewhere between missing a crucial 15 mile run and transitioning from Southern California 0.5% humidity to South Carolina 137% humidity, but basically I let the little (and big) things get it the way.

On top of missing the actual desire to run I got seriously burned out from running back to back half marathons (october and november). I pushed myself to do the longer distance training runs but I was hating it. I actually cried during more than one run, literally. Imagine seeing a girl sitting down on a treadmill and crying, awkward right?

I was neglecting anything but just getting in the miles (and if we’re being honest, I wasn’t even getting in enough), I was letting my sour attitude towards running fester (the bright side? what’s that?), and because of it I was actually getting slower. I was already self-conscious about my lack of speed so getting slower was really hard on me mentally. I knew quitting would only make me feel worse so I ran both races and even though I ran my worst times by almost 20 minutes, I was proud of myself for sticking with it and finishing.

DSCN2549.JPG

The thing is, this was a pattern. Get really excited about running, find a really cool race and sign up, realize that I maybe wasn’t 100% ready to tackle training quite yet, get burned out during training, and finish the race proud but also kind of thinking that I could of done way better. I’ve honestly never taken the time to actually build a good “base” before training for a race.

My new “goal” was just to run whenever I wanted to, and only when I wanted to. I didn’t run anything longer than 3.1 miles for months and some months only ran 4 or 5 times total. There were times where I definitely felt like a moron thinking that this was a good idea, how was I going to get anywhere running 2 miles once a week? Umm, I honestly don’t know. I wanted to sign up for a half marathon so bad, I think I was going through withdrawal or something but at much as I wanted to run a race I still had very, very, little desire to just run in general. Does that make any sense at all?

Well the bright side is that even if I am completely crazy, it ended up working. Over the past 3 weeks I’ve had some of my fastest and longest runs since… umm…. last march? But forget about speed and distance, I’ve had some of my most enjoyable runs over the past 3 weeks. Last Friday was the first time I actually felt like running more than 3 miles and on Tuesday I busted out a sweet 3×1 mile run (for a total of 4.2 miles) on the treadmill and literally loved it. And today, now that its been 2 days since my last run, I’m missing it and really looking forward to a date with the T-mill later today. I just can’t say enough about how good it feels to want to run.

yesssssss!

I always forget how mental running is. And how important having a base is. Even though I’m excited about running again I know I still need to work on building a base before I trying to train for another half. The good thing is that there are a bunch of 5ks, an 8k, and a 10k all coming up soon that will help me keep working on my base but also give me the satisfaction of racing. I’m already sign up for the 8k and 10k :).

Random Question: What is your favorite distance? I love half marathons but I think my favorite distance is 10 miles. My first race was a 10 miler but I haven’t had the chance to do one since, I wish they were more popular.

