Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m not sure if it’s actually a good idea to admit this on the internet but here it goes: I napped for almost 4 hours yesterday.

It was still pretty early, I had just gotten back home after having my job stuff postponed again, it was dreary and raining, and I hadn’t slept well in almost a week. Since my day was suddenly free I figured it was ok to take a quick nap.

I have a few theories about naps. The first one being that taking a nap is never really a bad idea.

IMG_0610.JPG

Having this on my desk may slightly affect my productivity levels...

 

If you really need one, usually it’s only going to make your life better. The trick is not to nap for too long. NavyGuy can nap for 2 hours and feel like sunshine and rainbows, for me, it has to be less than an hour. More than an hour and I pretty much turn into a groggy cranky beast, plus I’ll just have more trouble getting to sleep that night.

nap diagram1.tif

My second theory is that it’s safer to nap on the couch than in bed. The couch is generally less comfortable making it way more likely that I’ll actually wake up in less than an hour and have a good, productive nap. The bed is super comfy, its warm, none of my body parts go numb after 45 minutes of laying on it, so basically if I lay down for a “quick nap” in bed, I better have some serious alarm system set up or I’m not getting up for awhile and will most assuredly wake up feeling like a zombie.

Yesterday I decided that I definitely needed a nap. I was really tired and knew that I had to go with the couch or things were going to get ugly. Sure enough after almost an hour exactly I woke up cold and numb in my left hip. But sadly, my nap had failed me. I felt like I’d been hit by a truck and all I could think about was the warm comforter and cuddly kitten waiting for me upstairs.

IMG_0561.JPG

yes, let's nap!

 

I knew I shouldn’t, but I did anyway. I fell asleep hard for another 3 hours. Nap 764, Kat 0.

Surprisingly I didn’t feel like death, but I was pretty groggy and kind of ashamed of myself. I got a few things done around the house and met NavyGuy at the gym. I’m not sure if he was worried or just really impressed. I hopped on a treadmill and made it about 15 minutes before I called it quits. I felt like I was running through sand. I jumped on the stair stepper for another 15 minutes, called it a workout, and went home for dinner.

All I could think about was how hard it was going to be to fall asleep that night, but amazingly, it wasn’t. Maybe I really needed the extra sleep because I think I got the best night of sleep I’ve had in over a week last night. Nap 764, Kat 1.

I celebrated my small victory with a special treat for breakfast

IMG_0601.JPG

Avocado!!

Avocados are my absolute favorite fruit/veg/green thing. They’re usually about double the price here vs California so literally did a happy dance when I saw them on sale at Publix for $1 a piece. NavyGuy doesn’t even get embarrassed anymore when I dance in the produce section.

They were finally ripe this morning and made the best breakfast.

IMG_0595.JPG

1/2 cup quinoa, egg + egg white, and 1/4 of an amazing haas avocado. I’ve been eating quinoa, egg, and cheese almost every morning recently but this was way better.

I need to go get stuff done. If I don’t end up being more productive than yesterday my self esteem will take a serious hit.

How do you feel about naps? Do you have napping rules for yourself?

