Tags

, ,

Hey! I honestly can’t believe that is has been over a week since I last posted. Where in the world does the time go? Ever since I started my new job on Feb 10th things have been kind of crazy over here.

The short version of the story is that this job is so much different than I ever thought it would be. Things started off awkward and by the end of last week had gotten very draining (emotionally and physically). By the time I had finally gotten used to my new routine my schedule started to change almost everyday and I got sick (no surprise since I’m around children who all have colds). For a few days I pretty much just went to work, came home, made dinner, and went back to sleep.

I feel like now that I’m used to the fact that my schedule will change everyday I can be more prepared for it. I mean there are only so many things you can do when you’re planning to work out in the AM and then get a call at 5am that you have to come in as soon as possible, but the big thing for me is just having the mindset that that will happen. I’m trying to set up a mental “Plan B” for almost everything so that I already have something set up when things don’t go my way. It was sweet that I didn’t get called in this morning, but in case I did, I had another time planned to write this post :).

I also have to keep in mind that having a plan doesn’t meal following the plan. Just because I planned to run doesn’t mean it won’t still take effort to get out the door. I’m probably one of the worst people at planning but I’m learning.

So anyway, here are some highlights of the past week.

IMG_0623.JPG

NavyGuy and I are used to eating dinner between 5:30 and 6 most nights. Since I wasn’t getting home until then or later some nights he started to surprise me with some pretty sweet dinners, the best of all being this salmon.

IMG_0622.JPG

He said he got the idea between flipping through a Sam the Cooking Guy cookbook and browsing online. The end result was a spinach stuffed fillet with a maple syrup glaze. I’m dying to see how he did it because this was literally some of the tastiest salmon I’ve ever had and I’m pretty picky when it comes to salmon. Seriously, maple syrup and salmon were made for each other.

IMG_0624.JPG

The sides were a little quirky but thats just NavyGuy, I mean he cooked asparagus just for me and saved us from having to go out for a second night in a row. It was so sweet.

Over the weekend my friend Sarah came to visit from Maryland.

IMG_0631.JPG

We spend a lot of time just catching up, relaxing, and of course shopping. We love shopping together and I was long over due for a trip.

IMG_0646.JPG

The best part of the weekend: S’mores. Ok, it wasn’t really the best part of the weekend. Having Sarah visit and having Monday off definitely take the cake, but have s’mores in the back yard was pretty awesome.

Ohhh and I also ran that 8k, it went really well and I beat my time goal despite being congested and kind of sick. I’ll talk about it a little bit more later, I have to get out the door asap if I want to fit in a run before work.

It feel so good to be back! I missed you!

