Hey there! I just woke up from a quick power nap on the couch and I now I’m riding that fine line between having a boost of energy and being totally delirious.

It was a pretty crazy day at work with an inspection plus a fire drill mingled in with quite a few sick kiddos up-chucking all over the place. I actually had a really great day, I love busy days and I was lucky to end up in a vomit free room.

I guess I never actually mentioned anything about what kind of job I actually have and, to be honest, I’m just not really sure what is appropriate to talk about and what’s not. So without being technical or anything the easiest way to describe what I’m doing is basically child care for ages 6 weeks to 5 years. It’s not something I see myself doing for the rest of my life but for the time being I’m really enjoying it and hopefully I’ll leave with some really valuable experience.

I graduated 2 years ago with a bachelors in psychology and one of the main reasons I haven’t pursued a masters degree yet is because I still wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do. Some days I thought social work sounded good, then the next week I’d decide I wanted to do clinical counseling, some days I’d dream of getting a Phd, and then other days I wanted to be a guidance counselor. There was no way I was going to devote all that time and money into something I was so unsure of.

n621833850_1128145_9901.jpg

(2 things to note about this photo: 1) I bawled the night before, hence the puffy almost closed eyes. Please tell me I’m not the only one that got emotional about leaving college. 2) I didn’t have a tassel. Priceless right? When the whole big switch your tassel from left to right came I was like… wtf?? I don’t have a tassel?? haha)

I thought this job would give me the perfect opportunity to see how I like working with young children. I’ve always thought I wanted to focus mostly on adolescents but I’m so glad I’ve gotten this opportunity because after only two weeks my mind has changed so much. I’m still not any closer to deciding what I want to be when I grow up, but I’m pretty confident that I’ll learn a lot more over the next couple of months.

In slightly less than exciting news I just got the call that I have to be in waaaayyyy earlier tomorrow than I was scheduled. I better get to bed asap so I can get in a workout in the morning. I felt like I had sand bags instead of legs on my run yesterday so I called it quits after 3 miles and ended up taking tonight off. I’m hoping tomorrow goes better, I’d love to get in 4 miles or at least some solid cross training before work.

Tomorrow is FRIDAY!!! Hope you have a good one!

