Tags

,

she·nan·i·gans/SHəˈnanəgənz/Noun

1. Secret or dishonest activity or maneuvering.2. Silly or high-spirited behavior; mischief.   

High-spirited was exactly how I felt all day today. I was definitely in a funk last week and it feels so good to be out of it. Do you ever feel like the best way to get out of a funk is to just go with the flow and feel funky for a few days? It might sound weird but I feel like the more I fight the funk the harder it is to get out of it.

I figured the best way to celebrate was to go outside and enjoy the amazing weather (upper 70s today!) at one of the cool trails we heard about yesterday at TrySports.

IMG_0720.JPG IMG_0721.jpg

I’ve never actually been trail running before but now I finally understand why people love it so much. I still can’t believe that this beautiful place is so close to our house and we didn’t even know about it.

IMG_0727.jpg IMG_0729.jpg

After being sick all week I felt so ready to go out for a hard run but it just wasn’t in the books. Running on the trails was tougher than I thought and I was just generally feeling a little sluggish. I didn’t want to ruin such a good day so we just decided to take it easy and have fun with it. We stopped after 2 miles to take some pics and wander off into areas that we couldn’t run in.

IMG_0728.JPG

I secretly was trying to spot a gator. Today was sadly not the day, but that’s just all the more reason to go back again.

After a good 10 minute break we picked it back up and ran another 1.1 miles back to the car.

IMG_0734.JPG   

In the end I really didn’t care that it wasn’t a “great run” because I had so much fun.

By the time we got back to car both of us were starving and decided to swing by the grocery store to pick up some quick and cheap sushi.

IMG_0737.JPG
I rolled with the spicy tuna on brown rice. So Good.
IMG_0736.JPG
Smoothie on the side: banana + strawberries + spinach + almond milk.

IMG_0738.jpg

Perfect post-fun/hard/lazy-run meal if you ask me 🙂

