What’s up world?

Not much going on over here but I just really felt like stopping by anyway. The most exciting things going on in my life right now:

I’m learning to run again.

After about 2 months of “quitting” running I got an urge out of nowhere to start running again. Rather than get bogged down by thinking “SH*T! this is hard! I was running half marathons last year. What happened?” I decided to mentally start at ground zero and pretend like I’ve never been a runner before. Finishing a mile and a half feels like an accomplishment and I think it damn well should. I’m currently training to run a 5k with a good friend on July 2nd and I’m probably loving running more than I ever have before.

Pretending doesn’t work for very many things, but when it does work it can be pretty amazing.

I’m loving Body Pump.

After everything I’d heard and read about Body Pump I honestly didn’t really think I’d like it. I’ve never been a huge fan of weights and the idea of doing the same class over and over for weeks sounded worse than boring. When I joined a new a couple of months ago I decided to give it try out of curiosity more than anything else.

My first thoughts were “Wow, this really isn’t bad. I’m actually kind of enjoying lifting weights….whattt???”The second class I went to ended up being entirely different from the first one and from that point on I think I was hooked. It turns out that the instructors at my gym just do their own thing and teach a different class each time rather than teaching the same release for 3 months.

It’s challenging, fun, and never gets boring. Hopefully, maybe, I might see some muscle definition in my future?? I’ve only been going for about a month and I still have a pretty decent amount of weight to lose before I can even begin to worry about muscle definition, but this is officially the longest I’ve stuck with any kind of strength training routine.

(On the other hand, I tried Body Flow for the first time last night and it was officially the worst group exercise class I’ve ever been to. Not that the class itself was bad, I’m sure lots of people love it. It’s just not for me. at all.)

I’m eating spicy soup in 92 degree weather.

Because the closest I’ve come to actual cooking lately was throwing 4 different types of canned goods into a pot this afternoon and calling it soup and I’m pretty damn proud of it. My mouth might be burning and it might be ridiculous to eat soup given the weather but my belly is pretty satisfied. Sounds like a win to me 🙂

