I know most people aren’t really great at goodbye, and I’m not either, but what I’m actually really bad at is an awkward “hey, here I am again!”

I tried almost a month and a half ago to write a big “I’m back, here’s what I’ve been up to post.” Sadly, it was eaten by the blog somehow and I then had the excuse to not be be back at all.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is: Hey! I’m here again!

I fell off the face of the Earth while we were living in Charleston for one main reason: I hated my job. My employer treated their staff disrespectfully, were manipulative, and worst of all were deceptive to the parent’s who’s children we cared for. It overall just wasn’t a pleasant place to work. I struggled with my self for staying in a place that went against so many of the morals an standards I claim to live by. I felt ashamed and cowardly that I just stood by, kept my mouth shut to avoid conflict, and accepted my paycheck.

Happily that is all behind me now. We got stationed in Norfolk, VA back in January and now I am finally pursing a master’s degree in a field I am absolutely passionate about: Counseling!

Grad school is definitely challenging, and things like recipe experiments and cooking in general have been put on the back burner. On the other hand, I’ve found a love and commitment to running that I never thought I’d have. It’s the only thing keeping me sane right now and I love it!

I’m currently training for half-marathon #4 and 5 at the VA Beach Rock N Roll half and the Crawlin’ Crab Half.

I just realized how much I miss having a place to talk about training and just life in general. Besides, it’s just awesome to have a writing outlet that won’t get turned in and graded!

