Tags

, , ,

Week 5: VA Beach & Crawlin Crab Half Training

week 5.jpg

On the Plan:

Run 1: Easy 5

Run 2: Mile repeats, 4 total

Run 3: Easy 6

What my week actually looked like:

Screen shot 2012-07-01 at 11.40.07 AM.png

Run 1: Easy 3

Run 2: Death by 6 miles

Personally and academically this week was tough. Probably one of the toughest since I’ve started grad school, to be honest. Summer classes are no joke! Although I’m a little bummed that my training wasn’t great this week, I’m still proud of myself for not blowing it off completely. This is also why I chose to start training 14 weeks out so that I’d have a little wiggle room for weeks like this.

As far as the running itself goes I learned a huge lesson this week: I definitely need more than 10oz of fluids on days above 80 degrees. Last week I was fine with the small water bottle, I even had some gatorade left over at the end of the 6 miles. This week I ran out right around 4 miles and was completely miserable for those last 2 miles. I wasn’t really sure if Norfolk was ready for my super hot camelback look, but I guess they have no choice in the matter now.

All things considered, I’m definitely counting this week as a win. In the past, I probably would have skipped out on running period.

Screen shot 2012-07-01 at 11.40.47 AM.png

Week 5 is officially my last week of base building/messing around. Now it’s time to seriously get down to work and own that PR!

