Tags

, , , ,

I wouldn’t say that “run in all 50 states” in on my bucket list or anything. I would say that it would be a pretty sweet claim to make, but it’s kind of an overwhelming goal for me to set. I like to stick with small, manageable, realistic goals, and let’s be honest, even just visiting all 50 states is a pretty serious undertaking. Even though it’s not really a set goal of mine, ever since we start traveling with the Navy I started keeping a tally of the different states I’ve run in. It started out as way to stay motivated to run while traveling. If we were someplace new and I had limited time to workout I’d be much more likely to go for a quick run, even just 15-20 minutes, just to say, “Hey! I got to add a new state to my list!”

I spent the holiday down on the outer banks and between the drinks and heat I had just about zero desire to go for a run. That is, until I realized that I had not yet added North Carolina to my list.

The List:

  • Maryland
  • Delaware
  • Michigan
  • DC
  • Virginia
  • California
  • South Carolina
  • New York
  • Nevada*
  • Colorado”
  • Georgia
  • Rhode Island*
  • North Carolina!

* denotes treadmill run due to inclement weather or lack of safe area – sometimes it’s just not worth it!

IMG_9363.JPG

I got up around 7:30, chugged some water, and went out for a short and sweet 2 miler. I’m not sure what the issue was – dehydration, heat, humidity, tired legs, lack of sleep, who knows – but this run was HARD. I didn’t have a Garmin with me and just decided to go out for about 25 minutes to make sure I definitely covered at least 2 miles. I felt like I was dragging sandbags instead of legs the entire time. I was happy to check off a run from my training plan and glad I got to add NC to my list, but I came in feeling woozy and nauseous. I’m starting to think that the rest of my training might be dedicated to the treadmill. womp womp.

The rest of the holiday was absolutely fabulous. The house, neighborhood, and hospitality were fantastic. Sometimes you truly just need a few days to separate yourself from your worries and stress. No thoughts about papers, assignments, exams. No worries about how clean (or unclean) my kitchen might be. Just total relaxation. It was perfect!

IMG_9279.jpg

Now it’s back to grind… only 4 more weeks of summer semester!

