Tags

, , ,

week6.jpg

Week 6: Virginia Beach and Crawlin’ Crab Half Marathon Training

The Plan:

Run 1: 2 miles easy

Run 2: 4 miles, including 2×1600 @ 10:15Screen shot 2012-07-08 at 7.02.21 PM.png

Run 3: 8 miles easy



The Reality:

Run 1: 2 miles

Run 2: 2 miles

Run 3: 4.5 miles

When I looked at the plan for this week I thought it looked a little odd. After 5 weeks of regular 3, 4, and 5 miles runs, all of a sudden it starts throwing 2 miles in. But after a less than stellar week last week I was looking forward to an “easier week” and really hoped I’d blow it out of the water and gain a little confidence back. Unfortunately, my brain and my legs didn’t agree and I ended up with a pretty pathetic week of training. I completed my first run in NC, and even though it was difficult I was proud of myself for running while on vacation. Once I got back home I tried to bust out the mile repeats on the treadmill and was barely able to finish 2 miles. My legs felt like sandbags and my head was still on vacation. I decided to take some time off and give myself a little bit of slack. I headed to the treadmill today with 8 miles on the plan, but I told myself “It’s been a rough week, if you get in 6 that will be fine, we’ll pick it back up next week.” I ended up hoping off the treadmill after just 4.5 miles sweating like it was over 100 degrees (it was very cool inside the gym) and struggling to maintain my normal easy pace. I’m not sure if it was mental or physical, but one way or the other my body was screaming at me to stop and take a break.

If I’m being honest with myself, I haven’t been fueling appropriately (read: too much wine, not enough produce) and I definitely haven’t been sleeping well. I’ve got a little bit of extra personal stress hanging around and I did a poor job of planning out my runs. I took a few days off early in the week leaving me with only 4 days to get 3 runs in when I know I struggle running on back to back days.

Weekly Mileage:

Screen shot 2012-07-08 at 7.03.01 PM.png

With temps in the 100s I think I’m going to try to keep my runs on the treadmill next week. My top priorities will be eating well, sleeping well, and following the plan. Since there are only 8 weeks left to train for VA beach, if I can’t stick to the plan next week I think I will need to seriously consider whether or not I should keep pursuing a PR. Hopefully these past two weeks were just an unfortunate slump. I’ve gotten it out of my system and I’m ready to move on. Bring on week 7! I’m ready to kick some tail!

“That’s the thing about running: your greatest runs are rarely measured by racing success. They are moments in time when running allows you to see how wonderful your life is.”

-Kara Goucher

